I Do Not Like Prunes, Melody I Am

29 Aug

I thought I was totally brilliant when I dug through my cupboards last night.  As usual, I was making my nightly overnight oats. Raisins, check! Cranberries, check! Oats and milk, check! Then, I see another type of dried fruit: prunes! Why not, I was thinking, and threw a few right in!

Euch.

IMG_1191

complete with a sprinkling of cinnamon

I was trying too many new things at once. It was a new brand of oats (which were delicious, thank you very much) and why was a using dried fruit in the middle of the summer? I have tons of peaches! But, I took the risk. Apparently, dried fruits absorb a lot of liquid, who knew? The oats were solid and crumbly, not pudding-like which is how I like them.

IMG_1192

blurry windowsill shots are my favorite

Regardless of all that, I still really liked them. Can I just gush for a minute about these plump, delicious, white raisins? I totally stole them from my mom’s part of pantry but YUM.

All washed down with cup after cup of what I like to call Poor Girl’s Lemonade. A cup or two of plain or sparkling water and a squirt of lemon juice. Sure, we have sugar in the house but too much sugar makes me INCREDIBLY fidgety and this way, I get all the refreshing qualities of lemonade and none of the less-than-desirable side effects.

With the fruit-heavy oatmeal and tons of water, I wasn’t hungry again until just before noon when I started prepping lunch which I’ll show you in my next post.

In a few hours, I have a massage and adjustment at the chiropractor. Oops! I haven’t really been keeping up with the exercises he recommended to me, better get those abs working right now.

Have an opinion?

